As I go to bed…

As I go to bed in a country that can find money to kill people more easily than to keep them alive;

As I go to bed in a a world where ‘war’ is good for the economy;

As I go to bed in a world where we suffer and are killed for our bodies, for our beliefs, for our location, for our love, for living. For money, for power which has never been ours.

As I go to bed in a world where we cause suffering to our bodies, with our beliefs, wherever our location, despite our love. For money, for power, but mostly out of fear.

I go to sleep with an aching heart knowing that there’s the possibility that tomorrow we could all wake up and choose to be kinder.

NB: I also acknowledge the perspective, privilege and experience from which I speak.

Leave a Reply

